The Gift of Recipes

I love giving gifts! It makes sense since “there is more happiness in giving than there is in receiving.” (The Bible, Acts 20:35) I find it fun to think about the person and try to guess what he/she would like.

Do you struggle giving gifts? Do you know that person well and what their interests are, hobbies, favorite colors? What is going on in that person’s life right now? If you don’t know those things or need help, try asking someone who knows that person well for some ideas.

Throughout the years that I moved out on my own and got married and even up to today, I collected recipes – tearing them out of magazines, sharing with friends, finding them online, etc. I felt I needed one place to compile them all and have on hand while contemplating what to cook for dinner. Although, I am still often partial to paper and am not 100% digital. I had some recipe cards I had picked up and one day realized that they are the same size as a standard photo. So I found a photo album I liked and started to fill it with recipes cards. It’s taking me a while to fill the album, but I get excited each time I fill out a new card and slide it in the plastic sleeve. I pick up recipe cards whenever I can find cute ones on sale. I feel they are hard to find, so it’s a good thing I have a stockpile to last me for a while.

Some of the cute recipe cards I've collected for use.  Some of the cute recipe cards I’ve collected for use.

The recipe album shown below is mine and I have divided into categories: Sweets, Main Dishes, Side Dishes, and Extras. Of course, you can choose any size of photo album you like. You could even add photo corners to a scrapbook to hold the cards and then decorate the pages to your desire with other papers, stickers, ribbons, and the like to spice it up.

20130720-193705.jpg

20130720-193713.jpg

20130720-193737.jpg

Because I enjoyed mine so much, I decided to gift a recipe album to a friend getting married a few years ago. I found a small photo album with approximately 20 sleeves or so. I added recipe cards to each sleeve and filled out a few of them with recipes I liked. The rest were left blank for her contributions. I cut the plastic sleeve carefully that held the ugly cardboard cover, threw it away and made a new cover. I embroidered a pattern from one of my crewel design books onto a piece of embroidery fabric, cut it to the size of a card, and added it to the front sleeve.

I enjoyed gifting this because it was somewhat original, simple and inexpensive, yet I spent time putting my own craftiness into it. I wish I had pictures of it to show…

What are your favorite gifts that you have made for someone?

4 comments

  1. Such a great idea! One of those “why didn’t I think of that?” πŸ˜‰ I too love collecting and sharing recipes-I just might use this idea πŸ™‚ Thanks for the inspiration!! ~Blessings~

  2. I’ve always liked this idea ever since you showed it to me. It’s such a great, personable idea for yourself and as a gift. I’ll need to look at it next time I’m over. My favorite gift I’ve made for someone? Hmmmm…. It would have to be the wedding picture book I made and published for a friend after I photographed her wedding.


Leave a Reply

